New Layout and Sushi

I hope everyone likes my new layout!! ^–^

I loved the picture of Tokyo I found so I had to incorporate it!

Anyways, I’m shifting the main focus of the blog from just anime to Japanese culture as a whole. Sure I am obsessed with anime and manga, but I am also just as obssesed with the culture and place it came from as well! So lets discover Japan together, right? ^-^

By the by, yesterday I had my first…sushi! (Actually it was very delicious maki)

We went to this traditional Japanese restaurant very close to us because we had driven by it so many times, but never bothered really stop. That was one of the most beautifully decorated places I have ever been in. It was complete with shoji, taiko drums, sumi-e and all the traditional art you heart could desire. The waitresses dressed in pink sakura-adorned yukata and the men were out on the large burners spinning knives galore.

My mom ordered a vegetable dinner and I, I ordered some vegetable maki with a side of raw wasabi-ed salmon. It was brought out with gorgeous presentation and a pair of disposable chopsticks. The chopsticks were a pleasant suprise because for all who know the show ‘Azumanga Daioh’ , splitting them prefectly is extremely lucky, or lucky to those who are extremely unlucky. I opened them as pulling them apart was a lot harder then I had pictured. I grasped them, pulled hard, and they broke quite unevenly D: I’m not worried though, because I am generally lucky!

I picked up a whole roll of the maki with my chopsticks and popped it into my mouth. It was rather large, so I ended up eating one half at a time. It was delicious!!!! YUMMY! Dipped a little in soy sauce made it taste even better. It was like a swirling wonderland of vegetables, things that I didn’t even know I was eating, rice, sesame and seaweed. The salmon (Which I didn’t know had wasabi on it in the first place) came as a big shock as the intense heat made my mouth simmer, but it was oddly addicting. Normally I can’t stand spicy stuff, but this, this I could handle.

Although eating sushi was new and novel to me, I think I’m going to be eating it a lot more often from now on! Who knows? Maybe in a month or two, downing octopus and eel will be second nature to me!

~ by 100yen :D on November 4, 2007.

One Response to “New Layout and Sushi”

  1. Luv your new layout! Hey, I’ve decided to change my book’s plot, name & everything! I will be updating one of my posts about the book, please come see!

Leave a Reply

 
